This was the first public-access automobile museum located in Spain.
The Museum is based on the Gómez-Planche Collection, with over one hundred vehicles, thousands of pieces, accessories and other automobile-related objects, as well as artefacts donated by private individuals, companies and institutions. The Museum has a remarkable bibliographic archive and also has been ceded a unique collection by the Spanish General Directorate for Traffic.
The premises are made up of two buildings:
The first one is a late 19th century building that was originally a tannery and later became the second power station in Salamanca, which gave it the name it has been known as up to now, the "Leccy Factory" ("Fábrica de Luz"). The building has two large spaces that cover an area over 1,000m2. The offices, the archive, the shop and the reception are located in the space on the right. The space on the left has been restored to its original structure, which makes it an exceptional sample of the industrial building techniques of its day. This is a multi-purpose space, a place for conferences, presentations and temporary exhibitions, in accordance with the Museum's needs. The second building is new: an aesthetically innovative work by the architect José Elías Díez. It has three large, 1,150m2 rooms where the permanent exhibition is housed.
DISTRIBUCIÓN EN PLANTAS:
Planta Sótano: 1.211 m2
Planta Principal: 1.658 m2
Planta Primera: 1.382 m2
SALA SET (Exp. temporales)
TALLER REP. 1922